..plain…foolery.

by introspekdt123

A few weeks ago I sat down with the head of a well-known marketing firm here in Houston. After we exchanged formalities we dug right into how we could assist each other with upcoming projects. Somehow before we could get started good we landed at speaking candidly about the gross absence of resources and relationships in our communities and the similar vision of how to improve upon such.

A segment of our conversation was directed towards what is currently “available” to our community. When this came up I used the example of the “360 degree KFC Black Family Reunion”. I explained to my friend that I was not only insulted but incredibly annoyed learning that this type of “thing” had a presence. I had based my opinions on the grounds of perversion and demoralization and when I informed him of such he retorted “Well Tiff, KFC does sell chicken and what do black people eat at a family reunion?” My answer was simply complex. While I did agree that the menu for a reunion “may” include chicken I could not agree that I had ever witnessed anyone ever having  brought Kentucky Fried Chicken to any of the double digit reunions I had attended. I found myself wanting to speak to the effect that typically families chose to barbeque most of their food for the event which that still outed KFC’s position but instead I commented on the plain and obvious fact that any entity that cannot contribute to the building and sustaining of the Black community has no place in the celebration of such.

Kentucky Fried Chicken is owned by YUM! Brands, which was a spin-off of Pepsi-Cola Corporation in 1997.  The CEO of YUM! is David C. Novak. His tenure includes holding executive offices for YUM! and Pepsi for more than a decade as well as those for Chase Bank and Bank One. While I could dig deeper into his contributions to the corporate world I won’t. I will, however, point out that in no way shape, form or fashion can any of these companies deny that they have strategized their targeted marketing in our communities and most especially in urban black communities.  None of them can atest to having provided holistic or african-cenetered products or services that seek to improve our communities most especially those in urban black communities. If I went further, this article may never end.

I am to assume, just as I boldly broadcasted to my colleague and friend, that these events have grown accepted and embraced by us. I find that idea absolutely disgraceful and I am not speaking solely on the aforementioned points but one major and that being I, a black woman, barely eat fried chicken and I would doubt that I would ever find myself up in arms about attending one of these events or any other that shared views that were alike. What was bothersome was I didn’t just share my impressions with my colleague I shared them with 3 other people who responded with the same “O Tiff, don’t take it so serious!”. I found myself at very important questions. Am I not to take the contributions and efforts of my ancestery seriously or am I not to speak out against bare injustice to make other conformed blacks feel comfortable with their options as a people. I will speak out as often as I can and not only will I speak out, not support the entities and educate on the matter I will also create outlets to have the traditions and legacies of our people celebrated…the righteous way.

Home Page of the “KFC 360 degree Black Family Reunion”

http://www.kfc.com/kfc360/news/reunion.asp

