Exemplify a child..cont’d (2012)

by introspekdt123

It’s 2012 and I couldn’t be happier for what this year has already brought forth. First off, my absolute favorite children’s author Walter Dean Myers was recently pronounced the National Ambassador of Children’s literature that serves a two year term. He succeeds two other highly acclaimed children’s authors, whom one is another favorite, and accepted the honors with glee. He was quoted as saying “reading is not optional” in the interview after being informed about the honor and as is looking forward to touring and encouraging children to take a different approach and interest to literature. He is more than worthy to adorn such a role and I am anticipating wonderful things to unfold as a result of this honor.

What that means for me, a children’s literature author, is that books have not in fact taken a back seat. Now more than ever children are being exposed to technology with devices in record numbers and most all of those tools have some sort of learning interaction. (Good, bad or indifferent they all do.)  It is our goal to return the appropriateness to our works. It is our goal to first, as WDM is, teach children the value of reading, how to learn and more importantly what is best for them. While that may take tons of parents out of the equation I am forced to quote Sister Souljah in her saying ” Look toward GOD, above every elder and even your parents and all of your community. God is first…” and consult that all we know of GOD is to be every source of creation..experiencing those creations first hand should be our message to children…all children.

With that said, I am pleased to embark on this years literature list. When I tell you guys I absolutely adore children’s books I feel as if I should seek some sort of help for it…building another book shelf help that is. Here is my list and I hope you as a parent or parents will invest at least 10 minutes a day in building the indiscriminate aptitude of a child. One book at a time.

Peace yall

Roberto Walks Home by Ezra Jack Keats

The True Story of the The 2 Little Pigs as told by Jon Scieszka

Bare Bear by Miriam Moss

The Trip by Ezra Jack Keats

The letter to Amy by Ezra Jack Keats

The Tortoise or The Hare by Toni Morrison/Slade Morrison

Math Curse by Jon Scieszka

